Eight councils have triggered Care Act duty moratorium in month since emergency law came into force

Eight council have triggered provisions to suspend duties under the Care Act 2014 in order to manage workforce shortages and demand pressures during the Covid-19 pandemic. Birmingham, Coventry, Derbyshire, Solihull, Staffordshire, Sunderland and Warwickshire councils are currently operating under the so-called ‘Care Act easements’; Middlesbrough used them for a week but has ceased doing so. Read more.